Vacation!!

30 May

I didn’t plan on being gone this long!! I’m currently working on 2 projects, but I don’t have pics yet. I wanted to put some up from  The VARF. Varf…. doesn’t that sound nasty? I thought so anyway. While heading to the Renaissance Faire we were feeling lost in the sticks, and we saw a few rainbow-colored pieces of paper attached to stop sign posts and such. It took me probably 3 signs before I realized that VARF = Virginia Renaissance Faire.I’m a genius.  We had a nice time, it was hot, but not as hot as if we’d gone today. I didn’t take as many pics as I should have, but here are a few. 

  

Pirate Training course

 

 

We walked around 3 or 4 times in a couple of hours. It was only $8 per person and military got in free so it only cost $16 for 4 of us. I’d never been to a Ren Faire that had only 3 food tents. I got spoiled being in Northern California I suppose. There was no Sin on a stick, no orange ice cream in orange halves. No rides, 2 or 3 games. Fewer Celts and more pirates than I’ve ever seen before. 

      We had pork Sylvaki ( sp?)  that had a TON of fat on it…. ick.  We bought some “all natural” soaps that smell great, we bought Rum runner, lemon,and lavender. My father bought cigars and enjoyed them walking around the fair ( 3 paces behind us). We petted alpacas that looked sweet with their hair shorn, they had skeins of yarn available for sale that were incredibly soft and $15!! If I knew what I was doing maybe I would have invested in some incredible yarn, but I’ll stick with the less expensive stuff til then. I’ll get back on and add some of the projects I’m currently working on after my lil one goes to sleep. She’s been sick with a croupy cough at night which has left me with very limited sewing/blogging time.

Leave a Reply

