Banana Bread

26 Apr

So I probably won’t get much sewing done today. It appears that I’m going to be spending our 1 year anniversary with my husband’s mother and grandmother.Isn’t that the most romantic thing you’ve ever heard. I’m currently making some banana bread to take with me. Although at this point my mother-in-law hasn’t responded to my message about when/where/if we are meeting up, I may be enjoying it alone. And by alone I mean myself and my child who is currently digging into lunch. Ketchup, tater tots, and chicken nuggets are on the menu, her favorite by far has turned out to be the ketchup. Decided I’d share my banana bread recipe, its evolved and this is by far my favorite incarnation:

Ingredients

  • 3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup sugar (can easily reduce to 3/4 cup)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • Splash of Rum ( makes bread extra tasty)
  • Splash of orange juice ( makes bread extra  moist)
  • 1 1/2 heaping cups of Bisquick

Method

No need for a mixer for this recipe. Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl, add a splash of orange juice and rum- if you’ve got orange or vanilla rum all the better. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Add Bisquick making sure the cups are heaping , mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

 It might sound strange adding orange juice and rum but trust me this bread NEVER makes it to the next morning before being consumed by anyone and everyone within smelling distance. Also, if you read the recipe wrong and add 3x the sugar needed your bread will be very sweet.

I just got a response that says they’re coming here!!!! AAaaaaahhh!! Cleaning frenzy!

Leave a Reply

