From the beginning..

19 Apr

After having my baby girl I became a stay at home mom. I spent my days with Cali and playing video games and surfing the internet. After awhile of that I decided that playing games was just not productive. I started reading, I read like a crazy person, I’d read a 300 page book in 2 days. Although I found this fun I just knew there was something else out there for me. Thats when I stumbled across a blog and a http://plumtickled.typepad.com/plumtickled/2007/08/tutu-tutorial-t.html     tutorial    <—– This is the first thing I ever made for Cali. Doesn’t she look pleased!? Yeah….. fortunately I wasn’t discouraged. In the past 6 months I have attempted many…. many projects. Some successful others not very. I attempted crocheting, knitting, and sewing. Crocheting – didn’t last very long. Knitting – I took a mini class learned how to knit, not how to cast on, finish a project or purl stitch . Then, the sewing machine happened to me! Despite my inability to sew a straight line ( even though my sewing machine is self feeding) , or pin things without stabbing myself , I love it sewing! After finding another tutorial http://www.jenleheny.com/pillowcase-dress-instructions , I have started sewing actual dresses. 

Cali

 Her little wrinkly, thanks to her car seat, purple dress originally started its life as a pillowcase in the 1930s. I added the little lace at the hem, elastic and a white satin halter ribbon to keep it up. With a purple cameo button surrounded by the same lace used at the hem. I love it, Cali’s bonnet was a gift from her Abuelita ( grandmother in spanish) imported from the Amish country.  Dress 2 coming up in my next post!

One Response to “From the beginning..”

  1. Ryan April 20, 2010 at 4:57 am #

    Channeling Emma!!!

Leave a Reply

